Hugelkulture

Hugelkultur is nothing more than making raised beds filled with rotten wood.

I am trying one out. The idea is to do one HugelKulture one, and one control one just next to it. I will plant the same things in each bed and try to treat them identically. In a couple of years I will assess which is doing best in a pseudo- science kind of a way.

The theory is that the raised beds will be loaded with organic material, nutrients and air pockets for the roots of what you plant. I have read that as the wood begins to rot it absorbs nitrogen from the soil. However as it breaks down more, it gradually releases that nitrogen back into the soil. So I need to get hold of some manure for this experiment. I will be using pretty well rotted wood,  but I don’t want to starve the plants of nitrogen.

 

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.