Monthly Archives: May 2011

Hugelkulture

Hugelkultur is nothing more than making raised beds filled with rotten wood. I am trying one out. The idea is to do one HugelKulture one, and one control one just next to it. I will plant the same things in … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Hugelkulture

What must the neighbours think?

I do wonder sometimes what the neighbouring plot owners think.. I see them now and again when I go to fill up the automatic watering system.  Or pick out the few bits of bindweed that are trying to establish themselves

Posted in General | Comments Off on What must the neighbours think?

Ready to go

The walking onions are doing really well and getting ready to take their first faltering step of the year!  

Posted in General | Comments Off on Ready to go

Pot protection

So last year I just grew a bunch of stuff all together all mixed up. The theory behind this is that the different plants with different root structures support and compliment each other. Whilst I am going to carry on … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Pot protection

Clover powered beds?

So Spring has kind of happened. I have not done much on the plot at all. The clover has survived and is flowering. I am trying to develop a growing system based on a permanent clover ground cover. You can see … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Clover powered beds?