Monthly Archives: January 2011

Ground cherries – new year, new plant

I just found out about Ground cherries (Physalis Pruinosa) They look like a great tasty, low effort perennial – Just the kind of plant I like.

Posted in General | Comments Off on Ground cherries – new year, new plant

The shape of the site

Got a photo of that shows the shape I have constructed with the paths in between the raised beds.

Posted in General | Comments Off on The shape of the site

Chinese Yam

Chinese Yam (Dioscorea batatas) is a interesting plant. It is a climber and hardy in the UK. It produces a tuber that apparently has a very pleasant flavour that is rather like a potato. I have not had a chance … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Chinese Yam

Siberian Peashrub

I have a Siberian Peashrub  Caragana arborescens bush. It is nitrogen fixing, and provides a legume which can be a useful chicken forage, or in times of hardship picked and used like lentils. They have ornamental yellow flowers, these are … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Siberian Peashrub

Egyptian/ Walking/ Tree onion

The Walking Onion  Allium cepa Is a great looking plant. I only had one at the start of the year, so I have not eaten any yet.. I now have three and will get to eat them next year. It … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Egyptian/ Walking/ Tree onion

Oca

Last year I again grew some Oca Oxalis tuberosa I had a reasonable crop, however I experimented with leaving the tubers in the ground over winter, and I suspect that the harsh weather has done for them. I have a few … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Oca

Season one evaluation

Clover ground cover (Trifolium repens) Established strongly in some areas, less so in others. Daikon (Daikon) Grew well, a good harverst, but too many of them, grew large and looked untidy for the neighbours Fat hen (Chenopodium_album) Grew like mad, too much … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Season one evaluation

Summer one

I spent until April/May time creating the raised bed system and the paths. I then stuck a load of plants in and left it alone until about July.

Posted in General | Comments Off on Summer one

Ignoring the principles

One of the principles Fukuoka puts forward is that it is best not to water. Watering he says makes plants not dig their roots in far enough.  I am ignoring the advice and going for a high tech watering system. … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on Ignoring the principles

So far..

So I got half an allotment about a year ago. I have dug it into raised flat topped mounds about 4ft wide, with a path in between each mound. I took this style from the Emila Hazlip video. Emilia Hazelip … Continue reading

Posted in General | Comments Off on So far..